Une possibilité de fuite ?

  • Description

    Description

    First, I can only host for a day or two on my boat if the weather is good. I only need light help in cleaning the boat after sailing. Most of your time can be spent exploring New York. I am 62, three grown sons, retired art/technology/ special ed teacher. I sail all summer off New York City along the mansions of Long Island, think Great Gatsby. I take out between 60-70 people sailing each summer in small groups mostly through my own Meetup group. I like conversation , good stories and teaching sailing. Sails usually consists of 4-6 people from very diverse backgrounds and a mix of locals and travelers. We usually sail and then watch the sunset over the water. The pictures are not photoshopped. It is that beautiful.
    I also organize the largest social sailing group in NY with over 1,500 members.
    I am on the site because I enjoy introducing people to sailing, hearing their stories, and sharing cultural experiences. Public transportation to the center of New York is about an hour. The season runs from June to Mid September. Email me for more information. I also take people to the Bronx Zoo and the NY Botanical Garden. I like riding motorcycles, sports cars, and horseback riding.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with the boat cleaning and organizing. It takes about an hour before or after the sail. The rest of the time is yours to explore NY.
    I like to try new foods too.
    If you can play ukulele , violin or guitar, that is a plus!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping in the boat is like camping on the water. I have had up to four sleep onboard. Two is more comfortable. I live ten minutes away. The boat has a toilet, lights, ice chest,radio, power to charge devices. Free showers and wifi are on the land. The boat is on land until May, then in the water at a private yacht club. A shuttle launch boat ferries people to and from the boat. I might be able to host at my home which is a 45 minute train ride to the center of Manhattan.

  • What else ...

    What else …

    Volunteers would be free to come and go. Public bus is one block away. Train goes into Manhattan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a born and bred New Yorker. Every year I am available to show people around NY. I have memberships to the Bronx Zoo, aquarium and New York Botanical Garden. I sail with mixed, eclectic groups of locals and world travelers. No two excursions are the same. Many of my 200+ guests have said in their references, that sailing on my boat was one of their best experiences in their travels.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    One hour a day for light boat cleaning.

Photos

Feedback


Commentaires

commentaires